
Traffic Signals FAQs 

Q1. If I have a question about the operation of a traffic signal, who do I contact? 

Answer:  

During normal business hours, you can contact the Traffic Operations Section directly at 393-
8155. If a traffic signal is malfunctioning (i.e. completely out, flashing red one direction, or the 
yellow or other indications are out, etc.), you can contact the Combined Communications 
Center (CCC) operated by the Alachua County Sheriff’s Office 24 hours each day at the non-
emergency number of 955-1818. The City has someone on call 24 hours each day, 365 days 
each year and we are dispatched, after hours, by the CCC. If you have a general question, you 
can click on the link below to e-mail our staff. 

Q2. How do we get a traffic signal? 

Answer: Federal and State regulations dictate when and where a traffic signal can be installed. 
Certain traffic volumes must be satisfied on both the major road and the minor road. Traffic 
crash history can also be considered in determining the need for a traffic signal. 

If you are interested in requesting a traffic signal, a study must be performed. That study is 
performed by the government having jurisdiction over the intersection. If one of the roads 
involved is a state highway, the Florida Department of Transportation has jurisdiction and the 
request must be made to the FDOT. 

Q3. What does a traffic signal cost? 

Answer: The current cost for the installation of a new traffic signal is approximately $400,000. 
This is approximately the same as the cost for the reconstruction of an existing traffic signal. 
The annual electrical cost for the operation of a traffic signal is $1,500 per year per traffic 
signal. The annual maintenance cost of a traffic signal is approximately $3,500 per year per 
traffic signal. 

School Speed Zones FAQs      

Q1. How do you establish school speed zones? 

Answer: School speed zones are established by Florida Statute. Only public schools and charter 
schools are eligible for school speed zones. An engineering study must be performed to 
determine if the area complies with the criteria set forth by Florida Statute before a school 
speed zone is established. This includes the presence of school children walking to school and 
crossing the affected street in the area immediately adjacent to the school. Click here to view 
the Hazardous Walking Statute. 
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Q2. What are the times for a school speed zone to be in effect? 

Answer: Florida Statutes dictates this as well. For the morning time, the school speed zone is in 
effect from 30 minutes prior to the start of school until 15 minutes after the start of school. If 
the school offers an officially recognized breakfast program, then the speed zone is in effect 
from 30 minutes prior to the start of the breakfast program until 15 minutes after the start of 
school. 

For the afternoon or dismissal, the school speed zone is in effect from 15 minutes prior to the 
dismissal of school until 30 minutes after school is dismissed. These times are dictated by 
Florida Statute and there is no provision in the statutes for varying these times. 

 Pedestrian Traffic Signals FAQs      

Q1. What do the pedestrian traffic signal indications mean? 

Answer: The solid “WALK” indication is the time for the pedestrian to start crossing the street. 
This indication is displayed for between 4 to 7 seconds. It is not designed for the pedestrian to 
completely cross the street. The flashing “DON’T WALK” indication is the time for a pedestrian 
to complete crossing the street. The flashing “DON’T WALK” time is computed based upon an 
average walking speed of 4 feet per second and crossing the entire crosswalk from curb to curb. 
The length of time the flashing “DON’T WALK” is on varies from intersection to intersection and 
is calculated by taking the width of the crosswalk and dividing it by the average walking speed. 
During both the “WALK” period and the flashing “DON’T WALK” period, vehicles are required to 
yield to pedestrians lawfully in the crosswalk. 

The simplest explanation for the pedestrian traffic signals is to compare them to vehicular 
traffic signals. The “WALK” period is like the green light – it is the time for pedestrians to enter 
the crosswalk to cross the street. The flashing “DON’T WALK” is like the yellow light – if you are 
already in the crosswalk, finish crossing the street; if you haven’t started into the crosswalk, you 
don’t have time to cross the street. The solid “DON’T WALK” is like the red light – you don’t 
have the right of way to cross the street and conflicting vehicle movements may have the right 
of way. 

Q2. How do pedestrian traffic signals work? 

Answer: The operation of pedestrian traffic signals, like vehicular traffic signals, is dictated by 
state and federal standards. In general, a pedestrian must press the pedestrian push button to 
activate the pedestrian traffic signal. You must then wait for the appropriate time period in the 
traffic signal cycle, just like a vehicle. By pressing the appropriate pedestrian push button, you 
notify the traffic signal controller that you are present and want to cross the street. The signal 
will provide the programmed time for you to cross the street. 

 


