City Commission

Gainesville's City Commission performs such duties as passing the city's budget, setting the millage rate and approving the ordinances and resolutions. The commissioners are  responsible to the neighbors of Gainesville. The commission consists of seven members: four commissioners are elected from single member districts, two commissioners are elected at-large, and one member is elected as mayor. In the spring of 1998, Gainesville citizens voted for their first elected mayor in 72 years.

Desmon Duncan-Walker

District I Commissioner

  • Telephone352-334-5016
  • Email
  • ProfileDesmon Duncan-Walker is the daughter of Iris Duncan and George Walker, Jr., and the granddaughter of Collins and the late Gloria Chestnut-Duncan and the late George, Sr. and the late Alma McDonald-Walker.

Harvey Ward

District II Commissioner

  • Telephone352-334-5016
  • Email
  • ProfileFirst elected in March 2017 and then re-elected in 2020, Harvey Ward, Jr. is a native of Gainesville and a graduate of Eastside High, Santa Fe College and the University of Florida.

Reina Saco

Commissioner At-large, Seat A

  • Telephone352-334-5016
  • Email
  • ProfileReina Saco was born in Santiago de Cuba in 1990. She and her family fled Cuba in 1994, and were held in a refugee camp until being paroled into the United States in 1995.

Cynthia Chestnut

Commissioner At-large, Seat B

  • Telephone352-334-5016
  • Email
  • ProfileA native of Tallahassee, Cynthia Moore Chestnut received her B.S. in Speech Pathology from Florida A & M University; M.S. in Speech Pathology from Florida State University and D.P.A. from Nova-Southeastern University in Public Administration.

Contact Us

Gainesville City Commission
Fax: 352-334-2036
Please note that emails to the City Commission are public record and may be published to the internet.


Physical Address:
200 E. University Ave.
Gainesville, FL 32601


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 490, Station 19