Holiday Schedule

holiday circled in red on calendar

2022 Holiday Collection Schedule for City of Gainesville Residential Customers

There will be a one day delay in collection services for the remainder of the week for the following Scheduled Holidays:

  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (Monday, January 17, 2022)
  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 30, 2022)
  • Independence Day (Monday, July 4, 2022)
  • Thanksgiving Day (Thursday, November 24, 2022)

If your collection day occurs on or after one of the Scheduled Holidays listed above, your collection will be delayed one day for the remainder of that week following that holiday. ***For example, on a week with a Monday Scheduled Holiday, Tuesday's collections will occur on Wednesday, Wednesday's collections on Thursday, and Thursday's collections on Friday.

If a holiday is NOT listed as a Scheduled Holiday, services will occur as scheduled on your normal collection day.

woman holding smartphone facing out with myGnv.com page showing and the caption Sign up for Collection Reminders at myGNV.com and never miss your garbage day again.

City Office Closures for 2022

City offices, including the Solid Waste Division, will be closed and unable answer phone calls on the following days:

  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day* - Monday, Jan. 17, 2022 (Collections delayed a day for the week)
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 30, 2022  (Collections delayed a day for the week)
  • Juneteenth* - Monday, June 20, 2022 (Normal collection days this week)
  • Independence Day - Monday, July 4, 2022 (Collections delayed a day for the week)
  • Labor Day - Monday, Sept. 5, 2022 (Normal collection days this week)
  • Thanksgiving* - Thursday, Nov. 24 & Friday, Nov. 25, 2022 (Collections delayed a day after Thursday)
  • Christmas* - Monday, Dec. 26, 2022 (Normal collection days this week)

*Observance dates